Fee Explorer
IELTS Exam Fees by Country, Provider and Test Type
The IELTS exam fee is set by each test centre, not globally, so the same test costs US$179 in Vietnam and US$436 in Saudi Arabia. Search your country below for 147 fees read off British Council and IDP pages on 8 September 2026, each with a local-currency figure and a link to its source.
Which IELTS test fee applies where I live?
Every row is one fee for one test variant with one provider in one country. Where the British Council and IDP both publish a price for the same country, both rows stay in the table: they are not merged, because the two numbers are set separately.
What this dataset covers, and what it misses
30 countries and territories, 147 fees. Coverage is decided by one rule: a fee is included only if the provider publishes it on its own site. That leaves real gaps. The United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Nigeria and China are absent because on 8 September 2026 neither provider printed a number for them outside a booking flow that requires you to start a registration. Rather than borrow those figures from an aggregator, this table leaves them out.
| Country | Provider | Variant | Local fee | Approx US$ | Listed | Source |
|---|
Why is there no single IELTS exam fee?
IELTS is run as a partnership, and the two organisations that sell the test to you, the British Council and IDP, price it market by market. IELTS.org does not publish a global price list. Its own cancellations and remarks page sends you to your test centre for fee information rather than quoting an amount.
The practical result: on 8 September 2026 the British Council listed IELTS Academic at EUR 250 in Athens and EUR 307 in Paris, two markets in the same currency roughly 2,000 km apart. That is a 23 percent difference for an identical test with an identical band scale. Converted at one snapshot, the cheapest Academic fee in this dataset (Vietnam, VND 4,664,000, about US$179) is 2.4 times cheaper than the dearest (Saudi Arabia, SAR 1,636, about US$436).
Two more things follow from local pricing. Fees move on local schedules, not on one global date, so a figure copied from another site in March can be wrong in September. And in some markets the two providers charge the same: in Vietnam both the British Council and IDP listed VND 4,664,000 for Academic, so shopping between providers there saves nothing.
How should I read this IELTS test fee by country table?
Read the local-currency column first. That is the number you will be charged. The US dollar column is an estimate only, produced by dividing the local fee by a single exchange rate captured on 7 September 2026 from exchangerate-api.com. It is frozen deliberately: a live rate would make the page's numbers unrepeatable and would hide the fact that your bank, not this table, decides your conversion.
The Listed pill says what kind of evidence the row rests on. A pill reading confirmed 8 Sep 2026 means the figure was read directly off the provider's own per-sitting booking listing on that date. A pill reading 2026 fee page means the provider instead publishes one standing fee table for the whole country, with no specific test date attached. Either way, the fee itself is what the provider quoted for the Academic, General Training, UKVI or Life Skills booking in that row: British Council booking pages show a different upcoming test date for each of those bookings, but this page checked every row on the same day, so the pill is a check date, not a claim about which exact test date your own booking will land on.
Blank cells are honest blanks. If a country has no UKVI General Training row, that variant was not showing on the provider's page the day we read it. It does not mean the fee is zero and it does not prove the variant is unavailable, so the table prints nothing rather than a made-up figure.
Worked example: searching for India
Type india and select the Academic variant chip. One row returns: IDP, INR 19,000, about US$201 at the 7 September 2026 snapshot, sourced to IDP's own India fee page. No British Council row appears, because the British Council India page does not publish a price outside its booking flow. Adding the UKVI Academic chip brings back INR 19,250, a premium of INR 250 or 1.3 percent, which is one of the smallest UKVI gaps anywhere in this dataset.
Worked example: the UKVI band across Europe
Click the Europe region chip, the UKVI Academic variant chip, and sort by fee ascending. Eight rows come back out of 147 and the order reads Turkey (TRY 13,220, about US$273), Poland (PLN 1,110, US$299), Greece (EUR 272, US$316), Spain (EUR 306, US$355), Germany (EUR 308, US$358), Italy (EUR 312, US$362), Portugal (EUR 313, US$364), France (EUR 329, US$382). Same test, same visa, a US$109 spread.
What does the IELTS exam fee include, and what does it not?
One fee buys one sitting of all four skills, Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking, and one Test Report Form. IELTS.org states you can share results by postal mail with up to five organisations free of charge, and that additional postal recipients attract a processing fee. Electronic delivery through the IELTS Results Service is the other sharing route, and IELTS Online results can only be shared that way.
Turnaround is part of what you are buying. IELTS.org gives 1 to 5 days for IELTS on computer and for UKVI, up to 13 days for IELTS on paper, 6 to 8 days for IELTS Online, and up to 9 days for UKVI Life Skills.
Not included in the headline fee
- Changing your test date, which is charged as a transfer fee and may be treated as a cancellation if it is close to test day.
- Cancelling, which returns only part of the fee.
- A full re-sit, or a One Skill Retake of a single section.
- An Enquiry on Results re-mark.
- Extra Test Report Forms beyond the free allowance.
If you are budgeting a whole application season rather than one test, put these into the graduate application cost calculator alongside application fees and transcript charges, because the test is rarely the largest line.
What do the IELTS reschedule fee, cancellation and One Skill Retake cost?
These are the numbers no one collects in one place, because each provider publishes them separately or not at all. Three markets in this dataset publish a full ancillary schedule on their own site: IDP India, IDP Australia and IDP Vietnam. Filter the block below by market, or read the global rules that IELTS.org applies everywhere.
| Market | Item | Fee or rule | Share of full test |
|---|
showing 27 of 27 items
What the ancillary numbers actually tell you
Three patterns hold across the three markets that publish everything.
- A One Skill Retake costs about two thirds of a full test. India charges INR 12,650 against INR 19,000, which is 66.6 percent. Australia charges AUD 310 against AUD 490, or 63.3 percent. Vietnam charges VND 2,940,000 against VND 4,664,000, or 63.0 percent. So retaking one section saves roughly a third, not the three quarters people expect.
- A reschedule costs about a quarter of the test. India charges INR 4,750, exactly 25.0 percent of INR 19,000, and the same 25 percent it retains on an approved cancellation. Vietnam charges VND 1,100,000, or 23.6 percent. Moving your date and cancelling outright cost you similar money, which is worth knowing before you cancel in a panic.
- An Enquiry on Results is not uniformly priced. Australia charges AUD 240, which is 49.0 percent of a full test. Vietnam charges VND 2,268,000, or 48.6 percent. India charges INR 14,250, which is 75.0 percent. IELTS.org says the fee is fully refunded if your band score changes, so in India the bet is a refundable INR 14,250 against a new INR 19,000 sitting.
The One Skill Retake has hard eligibility rules that no fee table shows. IELTS.org states your original test must have been IELTS on computer, you must sit the retake within 60 days of the original test, and you can only use it once per original test. Results arrive in 3 to 5 days. If you took the paper test, a One Skill Retake is not an option at any price.
How does the IELTS cost in 2026 compare with TOEFL, PTE and Duolingo?
An honest comparison starts with an admission: the same problem defeats price tables for the other tests. ETS runs its TOEFL iBT registration fee page as a country selector that says "Select your testing location to view the registration fee". Pearson's PTE Academic fee page works the same way, routing you to a test centre and price only after you pick a destination country. Neither ETS nor Pearson prints one number, and any site that quotes a single TOEFL or PTE price is quoting a location it did not name.
What can be compared cleanly is the published ancillary schedule, because ETS states those in dollars for everyone. Set against IDP's India schedule converted at the 7 September 2026 snapshot:
| Service | TOEFL iBT (ETS, global) | IELTS in India (IDP) |
|---|---|---|
| Reschedule | US$69 | INR 4,750 (about US$50) |
| Extra score report per institution | US$29 | INR 350 (about US$4) after 5 free |
| Re-mark of one section | US$80 | INR 14,250 (about US$151) for the whole test |
| Re-mark refunded if the score changes | Not stated by ETS | Yes, IELTS.org states a full refund |
Two readings. Sending scores is far cheaper on IELTS: five free postal shares and roughly US$4 for each extra institution in India, against US$29 each at ETS, which matters if you are applying to ten universities. If you are still deciding which score to send, the TOEFL score calculator turns section scores into a total you can compare against a band requirement. Re-marking is far cheaper on TOEFL, where you buy a review of one section rather than the whole test, though IELTS refunds the fee if your band moves and ETS does not state a refund.
The Duolingo English Test prices on its own site through a checkout flow rather than a printed table, so no figure is quoted here. If you are weighing it up, our Duolingo English Test score chart shows how its scale maps onto IELTS bands, and which English test to take works through acceptance rather than price.
Price is the last question, not the first
Acceptance decides which test you can sit. A US$100 saving is worthless if your university does not accept the cheaper test, and a UKVI-approved centre is not optional when a visa requires one. Check the requirement, then compare price inside the set of tests that qualify. If you are heading to a US graduate program, requesting a TOEFL or IELTS waiver is worth checking before you book anything, and TOEFL against IELTS compares the two on format rather than cost.
Can I legitimately reduce what IELTS costs me?
There is no discount code and no coupon site worth your time. Four things genuinely change the total.
- Check whether you need the test at all. Many universities waive the English test for applicants who completed a degree taught in English, or who hold a passport from a listed country. A waiver saves the whole fee. This is the single biggest lever and it costs one email to admissions.
- Do not buy the UKVI version unless a visa requires it. The premium ranges up to 15.9 percent in this dataset. Universities that ask for IELTS Academic accept the standard test.
- Use a One Skill Retake instead of a full re-sit when only one band is short. In India that is INR 12,650 instead of INR 19,000, a saving of INR 6,350. It only works if your original test was on computer and you book inside 60 days.
- Do not gamble on a re-mark to save a re-sit. An Enquiry on Results is refunded only if a band changes. Where the re-mark costs 75 percent of a fresh sitting, as in India, the arithmetic only favours it when you have a specific reason to think one section was mis-marked.
Two things that do not help: booking a distant date rarely lowers the price, because the fee schedules in this dataset are flat across dates within a country, and regional or remote centres are more often more expensive, not less. IDP states plainly that regional Australian and Pacific locations may carry a surcharge.
If your band is close to the requirement, a re-sit is a cost decision as well as a study decision. Our IELTS band score calculator shows how the 0.25 rounding rule can move your overall band, and Academic against General Training makes sure you are not paying for the wrong module.
How do I check an IELTS fee before I pay?
Any fee quoted anywhere other than the provider's booking page for your city, including this one, can be out of date the week you read it. Confirm it like this.
- Open the source link on your row in the table above. It goes to the British Council or IDP page the figure was read from, not to an aggregator.
- Start a booking for your city, your date and your test variant. Both providers show the payable amount on the payment step, and you can abandon the booking there.
- Compare that amount with the row. If they differ, the provider is right and this page is stale.
- Check whether tax is added at checkout. Some providers state the fee already includes it: IDP Vietnam states its fees include 8 percent VAT, and IDP New Zealand states its NZ$490 includes GST.
- Check the second provider in your city if both operate there. In Vietnam the prices matched exactly, but that is not guaranteed anywhere else.
CampusBreeze makes free study tools and guides. This page is a record of what two providers published on 8 September 2026 with a link for each figure, not a price guarantee.
Common questions about IELTS fees
Why is the IELTS exam fee different in neighbouring countries?
How much more does IELTS for UKVI cost than the standard test?
How much is a One Skill Retake compared with a full IELTS re-sit?
Do I get the Enquiry on Results fee back if my band changes?
What does it cost to change my IELTS test date?
Is the US dollar figure in the table what I will pay?
Sources
Every figure on this page was read from one of the pages below on 8 September 2026. Each row in the explorer links to the specific provider page it came from.
IELTS rules and policies
- IELTS.org - Booking your test
- IELTS.org - Cancellations, refunds, remarks and transfers
- IELTS.org - IELTS One Skill Retake
- IELTS.org - Getting and sharing your results
- IELTS.org - IELTS tests for UK Visas and Immigration
IDP fee schedules
- IDP IELTS India - IELTS exam fee in India
- IDP IELTS Australia - How much does IELTS cost?
- IDP IELTS New Zealand - How much does IELTS cost?
- IDP IELTS Vietnam - IELTS fees
British Council country booking pages
- British Council Bangladesh
- British Council Colombia
- British Council Egypt
- British Council France
- British Council Germany
- British Council Greece
- British Council Hong Kong
- British Council Italy
- British Council Japan
- British Council Kenya
- British Council Kuwait
- British Council Lebanon
- British Council Morocco
- British Council Nepal
- British Council Oman
- British Council Philippines
- British Council Poland
- British Council Portugal
- British Council Saudi Arabia
- British Council Singapore
- British Council South Africa
- British Council South Korea
- British Council Spain
- British Council Sri Lanka
- British Council Thailand
- British Council Turkey
- British Council Vietnam